- Catherine Ryan
There is no need to work while sick in New York
As of September 30, 2020, employees are entitled to accrue paid sick leave under the New York Sick Leave Law, known as Labor Law 196-b.
Employees are now entitled to accrue sick leave at a rate of not less than 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked, starting September 30, 2020 or the employee’s date of hire, whichever is later. All employers with 5 or more employees will be required to provide at least 40 hours of paid sick leave, though this number varies according to the size of the employer.
According to the Sick Leave Law, employees can begin using their accrued sick time starting on January 1, 2021, for themselves or for their family members.
Additionally, the Sick Leave Law allows employees to take leave as necessary due to domestic violence, including time needed to access services, consult with an attorney, or anything else to protect themselves and their families from harm. New York joins almost a dozen other states and Washington D.C. in requiring employers to provide leave for people experiencing domestic violence.
Contact us at 845-218-1288 if you have questions about the Sick Leave law, or believe your rights have been violated.